You know how there are two sides to every coin? Well, there are also two sides to God. Many churches today only preach about God’s loving, forgiving grace and how “God is love”. And while God IS love, many churches of today also forget to mention something called “God’s Righteous/Divine Wrath”. It was apparent many times throughout the Old Testament and even a few times in the New Testament (after God had taken the fleshly form of Jesus Christ).

But the difference between God’s anger and our anger, is this: God’s Anger is righteous, while our anger is not. Why? Our anger (in human vanity) accompanies sin but God’s anger does not. If, for example, God is mad because most men/women in today’s times aren’t chasing after righteousness, that is classified as divine anger. But if we ourselves get angry over someone else’s un-righteousness, then our anger is sinful since we are technically judging others before we judge ourselves.

God is sovereign and created us all, therefore, he has no “need” to be measured up to anyone or anything else. AND he only wants what’s best for us. Therefore, God’s Anger is Righteous!

There were honestly many times throughout my lifetime when I was able to feel God’s love (a word of encouragement from a friend, a kind stranger who smiled at me at the grocery store, many good miracles happening in the news, the peace in my soul that comes from knowing that I’m saved in Jesus’s name, etc.)

But since “all have sinned and have fallen short of the glory of God” [Romans 3:23], that means that I, along with everyone else on this Earth, am not perfect. There have also been times in my life where I have made God VERY righteously angry.

In the year 2000 or 2001, me and a Catholic friend Sarah were just hanging at my place, chillaxing on a cloudy/rainy Friday afternoon. I was in the process of moving some furniture around and had my old bed and bed frame out in my living room. Suddenly, (or so I thought), I had this funny idea. I put myself in front of the bed frame and then held it up to either side to mimic Jesus on the cross. I said to my friend: “dudey, dudey, why have you forsaken me?” thinking it was just a funny, harmless joke. Sarah thought it was funny and turned around and did the same thing.

Later on that day, Sarah and I discovered that it was none other than…….GOOD FRIDAY!! And even though there was no violent thunderstorm or lightning or fire coming down from heaven or anything like that just then, after we both performed what we thought was our “harmless joke”, I pretty much knew in the depths of my soul somehow that God was mad at us. The only question was, how mad?

We both apologized to the Lord on the spot (while still thinking in the back of our minds that it was still a harmless joke).

Later on that night, I saw something I’ll never forget, so help me God! I was awakened by some EXTREMELY loud crackles in the sky, followed by one of THE MOST violent thunderstorms I had ever seen in ALL MY LIFE! I looked outside and there was this HUGE, white ball of light at the top of the sky and out of this huge ball of light was this thick, neon green lightning bolt. And the huge ball of light kept moving around but stayed in a fixed, stationary position in the sky every time it “stop/paused” to bring about the HUGE strike from the neon green lightning bolt, protruding down OUT of it! There was no doubt in my mind; this was the Lord’s SEVERE WRATH upon me and my friend for what we thought was our *harmless joke*.

I looked out my window and the thunder and lightning bolt kept getting closer and closer to my bedroom window!!! I LITERALLY thought it was the End of the World! I cowered in fetal position and hid underneath my blanket and started crying hysterically and praying for it all to end! And then I thought I heard three loud words coming from somewhere: “D O N ‘ T  M O C K  M E!” And I got even more scared!

And every time I thought “why are you getting so angry for, Lord? It wasn’t that bad, it was just a harmless, innocent joke! I didn’t truly MEAN anything by it! You KNOW that! Give me a break!” the lightning and thunder would go BBAAMM, BBAAMM, BBAAAMM and get closer and closer to my window! I truly thought I was gonna be struck to death with that neon green lightning bolt and DIE! I had never been more scared in my LIFE! And yet, every time I thought it WAS pretty bad what me and her had said, the *storm* would start to lessen a bit & start to move away from my window!

I was absolutely utterly terrified, worried that the Lord was gonna strike me down with that huge neon green lightning bolt any second! Once I realized how wrong I was in what I said and did earlier that day, ESPECIALLY on a “Good Friday” of all days, I just felt SO bad for what I said, that I told God that he was right and that I deserved to die for my misdeed against him; against the holy Son who saved me from death when I was younger!

And slowly but surely, the *storm* started to recede away. I saw the neon green lightning bolt being sucked back up into the sky, *into* the huge white ball of light and then the huge ball of light completely disappeared in the sky. The next thing I know, there was a peaceful breeze blowing outside. Even though I definitely did NOT deserve it, I felt as that was the Lord’s way of communicating to me that he had forgiven me after my SEVERE repentance/change of heart but to also remind me to never sin in that way ever again, less something worse should happen to me!

And I felt the Lord’s love for me SO strongly then, at that moment in time of the peaceful breeze blowing outside. Just like I also felt the total WEIGHT of my sin and how truly AWFUL it had been! [Even looking back to that, this very DAY, I’m STILL ashamed of my sin that day and of how I didn’t truly realize/recognize at that time that making ANY type of religious “joke” (EVEN if the “joke” is not meant AT ALL to mock Christ/the bible/the biblical prophets in ANY type of way) DOES in fact mock Christ/the bible/the biblical prophets. SO THINK TWICE BEFORE MAKING YOUR NEXT “BIBLICAL JOKE”. OR BETTER YET…….DON’T **EVEN** MAKE ANY BIBLICAL JOKES **AT ALL**!]  

The next afternoon, Sarah came over to my place to hang out again and she asked me “dude, did you experience that nasty, violent t-storm last night or was it just me, man?” And I was relieved to know that I wasn’t the only one who had experienced that! But anyways, we were standing there in my yard animatedly talking about it when my neighbor the next house over said to us: “STORM? Ha! What storm? There was no storm, believe me, I would’ve heard one had there been one!” Her and I both immediately looked at each other like “oh my gosh! It really WAS the Lord! D U D E!”

“For the Wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who suppress the truth in unrighteousness” – Romans 1:18

But needless to say, I have definitely learned my lesson about making any types of “jokes” about Jesus and I haven’t DARED tried [even remotely] to evoke God’s Wrath since then and I’d STRONGLY recommend you people didn’t, either.

Remember: God is like a parent. He is a loving, patient parent but he CAN lose his patience at times, when we, his created children, are disobedient.

And all the people that God will send to hell and/or eternal condemnation in the flames someday are those “people” if you will, who no matter HOW many times God tried to warn and/or save them, REFUSED to be warned/saved. So remember that.

