What very first began the journey for me was the day I was sitting on the living room couch in the apartment, re-reading a children’s illustrated bible that a relative had gotten for me when I was little. [And this particular bible has *specific* sentimental value to me since it is THE bible that was given to me not long after I had a near-death experience where I met Yeshua/Jesus Christ for the very first time in my life, with no previous knowledge of him]. 

Anyways, as I was sitting there joyfully re-reading my favorite parts out of that particular children’s illustrated bible, a peaceful breeze blew through the apartment and a soft, still voice said/whispered to me”Yeshua”.

I said “what?” It said/whispered to me once more “Yeshua”. And then a sudden understanding dawned upon me. This was the HEBREW/ARAMAIC name for Jesus! I was excited! I was happy! I had just had an encounter with the Holy Spirit of God and I felt truly blessed! 😉

So I was one step closer to the truth at that time. I knew Jesus’s Hebrew/Aramaic name was Yeshua but at point in time, that was about ALL I knew, around the year 2001-2007 or so? My mom was raised Lutheran and my dad was raised Methodist but they had both pretty much abandoned the Christian faith in their adult years, so I had no real spiritual grounding, while growing up. And though I had read the “official” bible (the Holy Bible that’s in churches), IN ADDITION to the bible given to me as a child, there were still alot of things about Jesus Christ/Yeshua that I didn’t quite understand.

And though I wanted and longed to go to a Christian church, I didn’t feel spiritually grounded or knowledgeable enough to be around other Christians “that have been going to church their whole lives”. I went to Lutheran services a time or two but felt out of place, like I didn’t belong there, like something was missing. And the only other place I had to turn to for spiritual advice was my bestfriend, who was Catholic and I knew there was something “odd” about the Catholic faith back then but I didn’t know exactly what, at the time. So I gave up going to church altogether and several years went by, with me sporadically reading/studying my King James Version bible at home.

And then, in the last four years or so, I had, for some reason, become PARTICULARLY interested in researching WHAT it was about the Catholic Church that was wrong, since it was nagging and eating away at me, on the inside. And after doing lots of research, I finally found out what it was about the Catholic Church that was WRONG/FALSE! And it set my soul at ease, just being able to know the truth about it. But I still had many unanswered questions about Jesus’s true role with the Old Testament, since I knew that Jesus was a Jew.

And it was only within the last year or so that I had become HIGHLY INTERESTED in learning about the JEWISH ROOTS OF CHRISTIANITY and it was there, during that time, that the Lord Jesus/Yeshua finally revealed his truth to me. The truth about the TRUE SABBATH (Friday sundown to Saturday sundown: 3 stars visible in the sky) and about HOW and WHY the Old Testament (Torah) still applies! And about WHY I (as well as all other Christians) must STILL participate in the Lord’s 7 Annual Feasts (Passover, Feast of Tabernacles, etc.) And about WHY Christians should NOT celebrate the Pagan holidays of Christmas, Easter, New Years, St. Valentine’s Day, Halloween and Birthdays!

But I WILL say this! After I had changed my “point of availability” at my work so I wouldn’t have to work on Shabbat/The Sabbath, (which remember, begins Friday evening at sundown), I’ve have COUNTLESS ATTEMPTS by people trying to get me to work on the Sabbath (Friday evenings & sometimes asking me to work on Saturday) giving me any NUMBER of excuses as to why they wanted me to work on the Sabbath and it used to happen at my work practically EVERY SINGLE WEEK! It was MADDENING! The Devil and his demonic representatives were TRULY trying to keep me from worshiping on the Lord’s TRUE Sabbath (Friday SUNDOWN to Saturday sundown!) Which only serves as FURTHER EVIDENCE to me that YES! Friday sundown to Saturday sundown IS the Lord’s true Sabbath!

A couple of my Christian friends think that I’m “superstitious”  or “in the wrong” for wanting to follow the ORIGINAL Jewish roots of Christianity but I know in my heart and soul that the Old Testament (Torah) applies just as much TODAY as it did yesterday in the days of Old. But today’s Christians (in general) have SO many arguments about why they “think” the Old Testament no longer applies. But in Matthew 5:17-18, Yeshua/Jesus Christ has THIS to say: Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy, but to fulfill. For verily I say unto you, Till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no wise pass from the law, till all be fulfilled”. [Everything won’t be fulfilled until the very END of the Book of Revelation — which is chapter 22!]

I will admit I’m STILL in the process of learning more about specific practices that must take place on the Sabbath/Shabbat and the 7 Annual Feasts of the Lord. Like, for a Passover meal, for example, there’s things called a Seder Meal/Plate, Kiddish Cup, etc. And since I wasn’t born and raised in the Jewish faith, or any faith in particular, it’s hard for me to find good resources out there that tell me how to celebrate such holidays. The website http://www.hebrew4christians.com provides some pretty good information on the history of the Jewish holidays and learning Hebrew language, etc.

There’s also a couple of good books that I’m reading right now that shed some light on the subject. But they still don’t give specifics (as far as I know) about WHAT type of modern-day material can be used to construct the dwelling for Feast of Tabernacles (if any). Then again, I’m still only in the very beginning chapters, as of right now. But so far, they are both some VERY good reads! [P.S.: If there’s any other fellow Messianic Jews out there who can give me more information about the challah, kiddish cup, seder meal, etc, please let me know – Thanks!]

BIBLICAL FEASTS FEASTS OF THE LORD

