DEALING with the deep, dark cloud of spiritual darkness/oppression when feeling OVERCOME BY SIN can leave a person with:

  • Depression
  • FEAR
  • Anxiety
  • Guilt
  • Shame
  • A diminished sense of self-worth
  • A lack of faith
  • A sense of hopelessness, as in, “I am without hope” and “I just can’t seem to do ANYTHING right”
  • Pessimistic thoughts about their life and/or the future
  • Trouble sleeping at night
  • Increased appetite or lack of it
  • Chronic abdominal, back and/or stomach pain
  • Chronic headaches
  • Feeling tired/restless/physically exhausted all the time
  • Anger and/or Resentment
  • A lack of motivation
  • STRESS
  • Feelings of hatred/judgement towards others and/or Jesus Christ HIMSELF
  • Severe jealousy and/or sense of “entitlement”
  • Feelings of UNWORTHINESS and/or feelings of being UNWORTHY FOR FORGIVENESS BY YESHUA/JESUS CHRIST
  • ETC.

Consequently, when sin begins to OVERWHELM US, it’s usually a sign of an underlying spiritual problem:

  • Are we (secretly) mad at Yeshua/Jesus, about something or someone in our lives?
  • Are we jealous of what someone else has?
  • Have we not forgiven someone who’s hurt us in some way, shape or form?
  • Are we blaming Jesus/Yeshua for all the problems in our life?
  • Are we overcome by depression, fear, anxiety, hate and/or despair over the soon-failing economy/the aggressive trans/LGBT/abortion Agenda, etc?
  • Have we become “complacent” in our fight against abortion/the abortion “agenda”?
  • Do we harbor hatred/resentment towards any one person or any group of people (for ANY reason?)
  • Do we fear spreading Jesus’s gospel, for fear of what others might think of us?
  • Have we gotten to the point where we just HATE people (in general), due to what “mankind” has become recently?
  • Have we become SO addicted to something (be it food, drugs, sex, alcohol) that we don’t know how to stop and are BLAMING JESUS for it?
  • Do we ever (secretly) think to ourselves thoughts such as: “There’s no way in HECK Jesus would let ME into the city of New Jerusalem someday, my sins are just MUCH too great” and/or “There’s no way in HECK the Lord’s prophets suffered the same fears/anxieties/turmoils that WE do, TODAY“, etc.?
  • Have we just plain flat-out lost hope and given up on life (in general?)

You might think that NO Old OR New Testament prophets ever struggled with the above emotions but you’re wrong! King David was known (at times) to be in GREAT DESPAIR (over his sins!) This is evidenced in Psalm 69:

Save me, O God; for the waters are come in unto my soul. I sink in deep mire, where there is no standing: I am come into deep waters, where the floods overflow me. I am weary of my crying: my throat is dried: mine eyes fail while I wait for my GodThey that hate me without a cause are more than the hairs of mine head: they that would destroy me, being mine enemies wrongfully, are mighty: then I restored that which I took not away” (Psalm 69: 1-4)

And then there was also Jeremiah (also known as “The Weeping Prophet”):

“For these things I weep; mine eye, mine eye runneth down with water, because the comforter that should relieve my soul is far from me: my children are desolate, because the enemy prevailed” (Lamentations 1:16)

Behold, O Lord; for I am in distress: my bowels are troubled; mine heart is turned within me; for I have grievously rebelled: abroad the sword bereaveth, at home there is as death. They have heard that I sigh: there is none to comfort me: all mine enemies have heard of my trouble; they are glad that thou hast done it: thou wilt bring the day that thou hast called, and they shall be like unto me” (Lamentations 1:20-21)

And let us also not forget Elijah, who FLED FOR HIS LIFE!

And Ahab told Jezebel all that Elijah had done, and withal how he had slain all the prophets with the sword. Then Jezebel sent a messenger unto Elijah, saying, So let the gods do to me, and more also, if I make not thy life as the life of one of them by to morrow about this time. 

And when he saw that, he arose, and went for his life, and came to Beersheba, which belongeth to Judah, and left his servant there. But he himself went a day’s journey into the wilderness, and came and sat down under a juniper tree: and he requested for himself that he might die; and said, It is enough; now, O Lord, take away my life; for I am not better than my fathers” (1 Kings 19: 1-4)

Therefore, David DESPAIRED, Jeremiah WEEPED and Elijah FEARED! They were all HUMAN, just like you and me! And truth be told, NONE of the Lord’s Old/New Testament prophets and/or Old Testament Kings were perfect, for even THEY made mistakes! However, nearly ALL of them (with the exception of King Saul & a few others) repented and came back to the Lord!

In fact, the bible calls David “a man after God’s own heart”. What does that MEAN in plain English, some might ask? It means that David was in despair, not just because of the “hurt” that his sin caused to others as well as himself but also because of the “hurt” he knew he had caused to GOD’S VERY OWN HEART!

Many of us, when we sin, are sorry for our sin afterwards, because of the hurt that it caused US. But not many people are upset over their sin due to the hurt it has caused GOD HIMSELF! Just think of how our hearts are “troubled” the MOMENT we see, for example, our small child or young niece/nephew SEVERELY MISBEHAVING in a busy restaurant, for example. Why are our hearts troubled? Because our “child” is disobeying us. So it is with God. His heart is GREATLY GRIEVED/TROUBLED whenever we “sin”.

And in alot of ways, sin is like a plumbing system. Ignore a little here and there, and soon it becomes a BIG PROBLEM. And ignore a BIG PROBLEM for too long and soon it becomes a VERY BIG PROBLEM and so on and so forth. And just like a plumbing system requires “regular maintenance” to maintain its vitality, so does God require “regular spiritual check-ups” to maintain our SPIRITUAL VITALITY [in this case, the “regular spiritual check-ups” being repentance for sin, prayer, praise & giving thanks]. 

Yet, it’s easy to fall into a sense of hopelessness every once in awhile. You struggle with ONE sin (addiction to food, etc.). And then, if you don’t get a handle on it soon in the name of the Lord, you then quickly develop ANOTHER perpetual sin (addiction to alcohol, etc.) and so on and so forth. And until you get this thing in check, it’s gonna keep going and going (just like the Energizer Bunny – for those who’ve ever seen that commercial, that is). And the more “sin” piles up on your “soul plate”, the harder and harder it’s gonna be to overcome it all! (Believe me, I’ve been there before, folks! I KNOW how it is!)

And it’s SO easy to feel hopeless about something. Yet, it’s SO difficult to have FAITH when it comes to certain sins and situations. But the first step to OVERCOMING SIN is to RECOGNIZE SIN. Sometimes, a person doesn’t even REALIZE that something’s a sin, until the Holy Spirit convicts them of that “sin”.

And then after you RECOGNIZE the sin or sins, CRY OUT TO ALMIGHTY YESHUA/JESUS CHRIST ABOUT THEM! TELL him how much you’re struggling with said sin/sins. TELL him how BADLY you want to overcome them! TELL him how little faith you have and PRAY for more faith! He will ANSWER you and he will HEAR you, MARK MY WORDS! And then REPENT of that sin/those sins. I know it’s hard and that it sometimes doesn’t happen overnight. I know and realize that it’s a PROCESS. But still. If you want to overcome a sin or sins, you MUST try to give it all to God!

Just pray the following prayer:

“Lord, I’m overwhelmed by SIN in my life! I feel hopeless and helpless. I feel like it’s a pointless battle. I’m not even sure if I’ll even be ABLE to overcome these sins on my own. Please help me, O Lord! Please cleanse my mind, heart, body and spirit! Please help me overcome my sin(s) at any and all costs! Please give me FULL faith in YOU and IN your ability to deliver me from said sin(s). Please teach me the biblical alternatives TO my sin(s), while also taking AWAY the sin’s(s) appeal, so that the sin(s) in question WILL NO LONGER BE APPEALING TO ME! I thank you Lord, for helping me overcome this! You are my only hope in the universe and I trust you to deliver me out of “said sin’s” hands! I say this in Almighty Yeshua’s/Jesus’s name! Amen”.

And don’t just PRAY that prayer. BELIEVE IT. Keep praying that prayer as many times as you have to until you can get to the point where you FULLY believe it, having 100% faith that it’ll come to pass and BELIEVE ME, folks, the Lord will help you overcome that sin! But you have to WANT deliverance from that sin…REALLY, TRULY want it! Because remember that Jesus won’t answer “half-hearted” prayers. He ONLY answers prayers that are spoken with 100% humility & faith! 

And just know THIS: Whatever it is you’re struggling with, and whatever it is you’re going through, YOU’RE NOT ALONE, plus there’s nothing too big that Jesus can’t handle! You might think or FEEL you’re “without hope” but as long as you got breath in your lungs, there’s hope!

And if there’s SEVERAL sins you’re struggling with all at once, write them down! Make a list! Also make a list about ways you can overcome those sins! Then make a personal prayer about each one on your list! And remember what was spoken of in Matthew 19:26: But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, With men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible. Translation? We can NOT overcome our “sin” on our OWN or by our OWN merit, BUT…..with God’s help, WE CAN…….for, in his great heavenly name, ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE! 😉 

 

 

 

 

 

